I guess introductions are in order…

So hi, everyone. My name is Ian Suttle. It sounds like “イアン・サトル” when pronounced in Japanese, so my surname isn’t often confused for a Japanese boy’s first name. I’m 25 years old, and I’m a CIR in the Iwate Prefectural Government (NPO, Culture and International Relations Division). I came to Japan last summer from Dublin, Ireland, where I studied Japanese and translation studies in DCU from 2007 to 2011.

In 3rd year of university I studied abroad in Ritsumeikan University in Kyoto. There are in my opinion few experiences one can have that compare to studying abroad, particularly in Kyoto. It is difficult to describe my feelings about this experiences in words, but suffice to say it was wonderful, and as soon as I graduated university in Ireland I made every effort I could to return to work in Japan.

My hobbies include classical Japanese literature, cinema, composing tanka poetry, travel, playing shamisen, and occasionally video-gaming. I wrote my undergraduate dissertation as a comparative analysis of Peter McMillan’s 2008 translation of the Ogura Hyakunin Isshu with the original Japanese, and since then I have had a particular passion for that work.

Kore kara yoroshiku ne! (笑)

This entry was posted in General Updates, Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

